DB-GPT vs Flowise

Short answer

DB-GPT: AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. Flowise: Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026). Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, DB-GPT is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it.

Choose DB-GPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core) and an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived).

Choose Flowise if you want: larger community (55.5k vs 20.2k GitHub stars).

Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

DB-GPT vs Flowise side by side

DB-GPTFlowise
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isAI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports.Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026).
LicenseMITApache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license)
License typePermissiveOpen core
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice.Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license.
StatusActiveArchived
GitHub stars20.2k55.5k
Last commitNov 2, 2026Aug 13, 2026
Latest releasev0.8.2[email protected]
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB diskNot published
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUOptional. API proxy models (OpenAI, DeepSeek, Qwen, SiliconFlow) need no GPU and run on a CPU-only machine; local inference with vLLM or Hugging Face needs an NVIDIA GPU (8 GB+ VRAM for 7B models, 24 GB+ for 13B+).Not required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/moNot estimated
Deploy methodDocker Compose (web server + MySQL)npm or Docker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed3 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedPaid / enterprise only (OIDC paid)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedPaid / enterprise only
DetailsFull DB-GPT guide →Full Flowise guide →

Key differences

  • License: DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core).
  • Official hardware: DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Flowise: not published.
  • GPU: DB-GPT: optional / see notes. Flowise: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: DB-GPT: Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) · multi-container stack. Flowise: npm or Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • Status: DB-GPT: Active. Flowise: Archived.
  • GitHub stars: DB-GPT: 20.2k. Flowise: 55.5k.
  • Last commit: DB-GPT: Nov 2, 2026. Flowise: Aug 13, 2026.
  • Latest release: DB-GPT: v0.8.2 (Aug 26, 2026). Flowise: [email protected] (Jul 29, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders.

DB-GPT vs Flowise: FAQ

DB-GPT or Flowise: which should a small business choose?

Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, DB-GPT is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it. Choose DB-GPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core) and an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived). Choose Flowise if you want: larger community (55.5k vs 20.2k GitHub stars). Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, DB-GPT or Flowise?

DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do DB-GPT and Flowise need?

DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Flowise: not published.

What is the license difference between DB-GPT and Flowise?

DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core). Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is DB-GPT or Flowise more actively maintained?

DB-GPT: Active, last commit Nov 2, 2026. Flowise: Archived, last commit Aug 13, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, DB-GPT or Flowise?

DB-GPT installs via Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) (multi-container stack); Flowise via npm or Docker Compose (multi-container stack). DB-GPT lists 4 known gotchas and Flowise lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.