AutoGPT Platform vs DB-GPT
Short answer
AutoGPT Platform: Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. DB-GPT: AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 20.2k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose DB-GPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 6 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AutoGPT Platform vs DB-GPT side by side
| AutoGPT Platform | DB-GPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Visual builder for long-running AI agents and workflows, self-hostable as a single container. | AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. |
| License | Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest | MIT |
| License type | Source-available | Permissive |
| License conditions | The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 188k | 20.2k |
| Last commit | Nov 1, 2026 | Nov 2, 2026 |
| Latest release | autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 | v0.8.2 |
| Minimum hardware | 6 GB RAM | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Optional. API proxy models (OpenAI, DeepSeek, Qwen, SiliconFlow) need no GPU and run on a CPU-only machine; local inference with vLLM or Hugging Face needs an NVIDIA GPU (8 GB+ VRAM for 7B models, 24 GB+ for 13B+). |
| Est. server cost | from €35.99/mo | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker (single container) | Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full AutoGPT Platform guide → | Full DB-GPT guide → |
Key differences
- License: AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive).
- Official hardware: AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk.
- GPU: AutoGPT Platform: not required or not stated. DB-GPT: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: AutoGPT Platform: from €35.99/mo. DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: AutoGPT Platform: Docker (single container) · single container. DB-GPT: Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: AutoGPT Platform: 188k. DB-GPT: 20.2k.
- Last commit: AutoGPT Platform: Nov 1, 2026. DB-GPT: Nov 2, 2026.
- Latest release: AutoGPT Platform: autogpt-platform-beta-v0.10.0 (Oct 27, 2026). DB-GPT: v0.8.2 (Aug 26, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active.
AutoGPT Platform vs DB-GPT: FAQ
AutoGPT Platform or DB-GPT: which should a small business choose?
Choose AutoGPT Platform if you want: larger community (188k vs 20.2k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose DB-GPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 6 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).
Which is cheaper to self-host, AutoGPT Platform or DB-GPT?
DB-GPT: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
How much hardware do AutoGPT Platform and DB-GPT need?
AutoGPT Platform: minimum 6 GB RAM. DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk.
What is the license difference between AutoGPT Platform and DB-GPT?
AutoGPT Platform: Polyform Shield 1.0.0 (autogpt_platform/); MIT for the rest (Source-available). The platform code in autogpt_platform/ is under the Polyform Shield License: use and modification for your business are allowed, but you may not use it to offer a product or service that competes with AutoGPT. The classic agent, Forge and benchmark outside that folder are MIT. DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AutoGPT Platform or DB-GPT more actively maintained?
AutoGPT Platform: Active, last commit Nov 1, 2026. DB-GPT: Active, last commit Nov 2, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AutoGPT Platform or DB-GPT?
AutoGPT Platform installs via Docker (single container) (single container); DB-GPT via Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) (multi-container stack). AutoGPT Platform lists 4 known gotchas and DB-GPT lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- AutoGPT Platform self-hosting guide · DB-GPT self-hosting guide
- All AutoGPT Platform alternatives, ranked
- All DB-GPT alternatives, ranked
- Agent Zero vs AutoGPT Platform
- Agent Zero vs DB-GPT
- AstrBot vs AutoGPT Platform
- AstrBot vs DB-GPT
- AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Coze Studio
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs Flowise
- AutoGPT Platform vs Langflow
- AutoGPT Platform vs Mem0
- AutoGPT Platform vs Sim
- CowAgent vs DB-GPT
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AutoGPT Platform GitHub repository: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT
- AutoGPT Platform documentation, AutoGPT Platform hardware requirements: agpt.co/docs/platform/self-hosting/single-container
- AutoGPT Platform license: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT/blob/master/LICENSE
- AutoGPT Platform deploy instructions: github.com/Significant-Gravitas/AutoGPT#self-host-autogpt
- DB-GPT GitHub repository: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT
- DB-GPT documentation, DB-GPT deploy instructions: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/docs/docs/getting-started/deploy/docker-compose.md
- DB-GPT license: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- DB-GPT hardware requirements: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/docs/docs/getting-started/prerequisites.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-11-01): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.