DB-GPT vs Dify
Short answer
DB-GPT: AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose DB-GPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (160k vs 20.2k GitHub stars).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
DB-GPT vs Dify side by side
| DB-GPT | Dify | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. |
| License | MIT | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 20.2k | 160k |
| Last commit | Nov 2, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.8.2 | 1.18.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Optional. API proxy models (OpenAI, DeepSeek, Qwen, SiliconFlow) need no GPU and run on a CPU-only machine; local inference with vLLM or Hugging Face needs an NVIDIA GPU (8 GB+ VRAM for 7B models, 24 GB+ for 13B+). | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €19.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Basic free, more in paid plan |
| Details | Full DB-GPT guide → | Full Dify guide → |
Key differences
- License: DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
- GPU: DB-GPT: optional / see notes. Dify: not required or not stated.
- Deploy: DB-GPT: Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) · multi-container stack. Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: DB-GPT: 20.2k. Dify: 160k.
- Last commit: DB-GPT: Nov 2, 2026. Dify: Nov 3, 2026.
- Latest release: DB-GPT: v0.8.2 (Aug 26, 2026). Dify: 1.18.0 (Oct 23, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Status: Active.
DB-GPT vs Dify: FAQ
DB-GPT or Dify: which should a small business choose?
Choose DB-GPT if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose Dify if you want: larger community (160k vs 20.2k GitHub stars).
Which is cheaper to self-host, DB-GPT or Dify?
DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo. Dify: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do DB-GPT and Dify need?
DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM.
What is the license difference between DB-GPT and Dify?
DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is DB-GPT or Dify more actively maintained?
DB-GPT: Active, last commit Nov 2, 2026. Dify: Active, last commit Nov 3, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, DB-GPT or Dify?
DB-GPT installs via Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) (multi-container stack); Dify via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). DB-GPT lists 4 known gotchas and Dify lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- DB-GPT self-hosting guide · Dify self-hosting guide
- All DB-GPT alternatives, ranked
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- Agent Zero vs DB-GPT
- Agent Zero vs Dify
- AstrBot vs DB-GPT
- AstrBot vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs DB-GPT
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- CowAgent vs DB-GPT
- CowAgent vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs DB-GPT
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- DB-GPT vs Flowise
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- DB-GPT GitHub repository: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT
- DB-GPT documentation, DB-GPT deploy instructions: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/docs/docs/getting-started/deploy/docker-compose.md
- DB-GPT license: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- DB-GPT hardware requirements: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/docs/docs/getting-started/prerequisites.md
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-11-01): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.