Dify vs Mem0
Short answer
Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Mem0: Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (160k vs 68.0k GitHub stars).
Choose Mem0 if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Mem0 publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Dify vs Mem0 side by side
| Dify | Mem0 | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. | Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. |
| License | Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Permissive |
| License conditions | Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. | Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 160k | 68.0k |
| Last commit | Oct 29, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Latest release | 1.18.0 | ts-v3.3.1 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose (build from source) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Basic free, more in paid plan | Not documented |
| Details | Full Dify guide → | Full Mem0 guide → |
Key differences
- License: Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Mem0: not published.
- Est. server cost: Dify: from €19.99/mo. Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Mem0: Docker Compose (build from source) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Dify: 160k. Mem0: 68.0k.
- Last commit: Dify: Oct 29, 2026. Mem0: Oct 26, 2026.
- Latest release: Dify: 1.18.0 (Oct 23, 2026). Mem0: ts-v3.3.1 (Sep 25, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Dify vs Mem0: FAQ
Dify or Mem0: which should a small business choose?
Choose Dify if you want: larger community (160k vs 68.0k GitHub stars). Choose Mem0 if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Mem0 publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Dify or Mem0?
Dify: from €19.99/mo. Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Dify and Mem0 need?
Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Mem0: not published.
What is the license difference between Dify and Mem0?
Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Dify or Mem0 more actively maintained?
Dify: Active, last commit Oct 29, 2026. Mem0: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 29, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Dify or Mem0?
Dify installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Mem0 via Docker Compose (build from source) (multi-container stack). Dify lists 2 known gotchas and Mem0 lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Dify self-hosting guide · Mem0 self-hosting guide
- All Dify alternatives, ranked
- All Mem0 alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs Dify
- AutoGPT Platform vs Mem0
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs Mem0
- Dify vs FastGPT
- Dify vs Flowise
- Dify vs Langflow
- Dify vs MaxKB
- Dify vs n8n
- Dify vs RAGFlow
- Dify vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Dify GitHub repository: github.com/langgenius/dify
- Dify documentation, Dify hardware requirements: docs.dify.ai/en/self-host/deploy/quick-start/docker-compose
- Dify license: github.com/langgenius/dify/blob/main/LICENSE
- Dify deploy instructions: github.com/langgenius/dify#quick-start
- Mem0 GitHub repository: github.com/mem0ai/mem0
- Mem0 documentation: docs.mem0.ai/open-source/overview
- Mem0 license: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/LICENSE
- Mem0 hardware requirements, Mem0 deploy instructions: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/server/README.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.