Karakeep vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
Short answer
Karakeep: Self-hosted bookmark and read-later app (formerly Hoarder) with AI tagging, summaries and full-text search. Onyx (formerly Danswer): AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose Onyx (formerly Danswer) if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Network copyleft (AGPL)).
Karakeep publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Karakeep vs Onyx (formerly Danswer) side by side
| Karakeep | Onyx (formerly Danswer) | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Self-hosted bookmark and read-later app (formerly Hoarder) with AI tagging, summaries and full-text search. | AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. |
| License | AGPL-3.0 | MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) |
| License type | Network copyleft (AGPL) | Open core |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Karakeep and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. | The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 30.2k | 33.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 31, 2026 | Nov 1, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.34.1 | v5.0.3 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. AI tagging calls OpenAI or an Ollama server you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Install script (Docker Compose) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Karakeep guide → | Full Onyx (formerly Danswer) guide → |
Key differences
- License: Karakeep: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core).
- Official hardware: Karakeep: not published. Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
- GPU: Karakeep: optional / see notes. Onyx (formerly Danswer): not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: Karakeep: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: Karakeep: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Install script (Docker Compose) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Karakeep: 30.2k. Onyx (formerly Danswer): 33.1k.
- Last commit: Karakeep: Oct 31, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Nov 1, 2026.
- Latest release: Karakeep: v0.34.1 (Oct 22, 2026). Onyx (formerly Danswer): v5.0.3 (Oct 30, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.
Karakeep vs Onyx (formerly Danswer): FAQ
Karakeep or Onyx (formerly Danswer): which should a small business choose?
Choose Onyx (formerly Danswer) if you want: fewer license conditions (Open core vs Network copyleft (AGPL)). Karakeep publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Karakeep or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
Karakeep: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Karakeep and Onyx (formerly Danswer) need?
Karakeep: not published. Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
What is the license difference between Karakeep and Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
Karakeep: AGPL-3.0 (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use. If you modify Karakeep and let users interact with it over a network, you must offer them the modified source under AGPL-3.0. Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Karakeep or Onyx (formerly Danswer) more actively maintained?
Karakeep: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Active, last commit Nov 1, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 1, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Karakeep or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
Karakeep installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Onyx (formerly Danswer) via Install script (Docker Compose) (multi-container stack). Karakeep lists 4 known gotchas and Onyx (formerly Danswer) lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Karakeep self-hosting guide · Onyx (formerly Danswer) self-hosting guide
- All Karakeep alternatives, ranked
- All Onyx (formerly Danswer) alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs Karakeep
- AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AnythingLLM vs Karakeep
- AnythingLLM vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs Karakeep
- DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs Karakeep
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Karakeep vs kotaemon
- Karakeep vs Langchain-Chatchat
- Karakeep vs LightRAG
- Karakeep vs MaxKB
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Karakeep GitHub repository: github.com/karakeep-app/karakeep
- Karakeep documentation, Karakeep hardware requirements, Karakeep deploy instructions: docs.karakeep.com/installation/docker/
- Karakeep license: github.com/karakeep-app/karakeep/blob/main/LICENSE
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) GitHub repository: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) documentation, Onyx (formerly Danswer) hardware requirements: docs.onyx.app/deployment/getting_started/resourcing
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) license: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx/blob/main/LICENSE
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) deploy instructions: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.