LightRAG vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
Short answer
LightRAG: Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. Onyx (formerly Danswer): AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose LightRAG if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
LightRAG vs Onyx (formerly Danswer) side by side
| LightRAG | Onyx (formerly Danswer) | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. | AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. |
| License | MIT | MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) |
| License type | Permissive | Open core |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. | The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 40.4k | 33.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 14, 2026 | Oct 31, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.5.7 | v5.0.3 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Install script (Docker Compose) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full LightRAG guide → | Full Onyx (formerly Danswer) guide → |
Key differences
- License: LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core).
- Official hardware: LightRAG: not published. Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
- GPU: LightRAG: optional / see notes. Onyx (formerly Danswer): not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: LightRAG: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Install script (Docker Compose) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: LightRAG: 40.4k. Onyx (formerly Danswer): 33.1k.
- Last commit: LightRAG: Oct 14, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Oct 31, 2026.
- Latest release: LightRAG: v1.5.7 (Sep 2, 2026). Onyx (formerly Danswer): v5.0.3 (Oct 30, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.
LightRAG vs Onyx (formerly Danswer): FAQ
LightRAG or Onyx (formerly Danswer): which should a small business choose?
Choose LightRAG if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core). LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, LightRAG or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do LightRAG and Onyx (formerly Danswer) need?
LightRAG: not published. Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk).
What is the license difference between LightRAG and Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is LightRAG or Onyx (formerly Danswer) more actively maintained?
LightRAG: Active, last commit Oct 14, 2026. Onyx (formerly Danswer): Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, LightRAG or Onyx (formerly Danswer)?
LightRAG installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Onyx (formerly Danswer) via Install script (Docker Compose) (multi-container stack). LightRAG lists 4 known gotchas and Onyx (formerly Danswer) lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- LightRAG self-hosting guide · Onyx (formerly Danswer) self-hosting guide
- All LightRAG alternatives, ranked
- All Onyx (formerly Danswer) alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs LightRAG
- AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AnythingLLM vs LightRAG
- AnythingLLM vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs LightRAG
- DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs LightRAG
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Khoj vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- kotaemon vs LightRAG
- kotaemon vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Langchain-Chatchat vs LightRAG
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- LightRAG GitHub repository: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG
- LightRAG documentation: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG/blob/main/docs/LightRAG-API-Server.md
- LightRAG license: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG/blob/main/LICENSE
- LightRAG hardware requirements: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG#selecting-backend-storage
- LightRAG deploy instructions: github.com/HKUDS/LightRAG#install-lightrag-server
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) GitHub repository: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) documentation, Onyx (formerly Danswer) hardware requirements: docs.onyx.app/deployment/getting_started/resourcing
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) license: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx/blob/main/LICENSE
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) deploy instructions: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.