Mem0 vs Sim
Short answer
Mem0: Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose Mem0 if you want: larger community (68.0k vs 29.9k GitHub stars).
Mem0 publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Mem0 vs Sim side by side
| Mem0 | Sim | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. | Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 68.0k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 26, 2026 | Oct 28, 2026 |
| Latest release | ts-v3.3.1 | v0.9.36 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (build from source) | Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free · SAML free) |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Not documented | Yes, free |
| Details | Full Mem0 guide → | Full Sim guide → |
Key differences
- Official hardware: Mem0: not published. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
- Est. server cost: Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Sim: from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: Mem0: Docker Compose (build from source) · multi-container stack. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Mem0: 68.0k. Sim: 29.9k.
- Last commit: Mem0: Oct 26, 2026. Sim: Oct 28, 2026.
- Latest release: Mem0: ts-v3.3.1 (Sep 25, 2026). Sim: v0.9.36 (Oct 28, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; License: Apache-2.0 (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Mem0 vs Sim: FAQ
Mem0 or Sim: which should a small business choose?
Choose Mem0 if you want: larger community (68.0k vs 29.9k GitHub stars). Mem0 publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Mem0 or Sim?
Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Sim: from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Mem0 and Sim need?
Mem0: not published. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
What is the license difference between Mem0 and Sim?
Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Mem0 or Sim more actively maintained?
Mem0: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 28, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 29, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Mem0 or Sim?
Mem0 installs via Docker Compose (build from source) (multi-container stack); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). Mem0 lists 4 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Mem0 self-hosting guide · Sim self-hosting guide
- All Mem0 alternatives, ranked
- All Sim alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Sim
- AutoGPT Platform vs Mem0
- AutoGPT Platform vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs Mem0
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- Dify vs Mem0
- Dify vs Sim
- Flowise vs Mem0
- Flowise vs Sim
- Langflow vs Mem0
- Langflow vs Sim
- n8n vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Mem0 GitHub repository: github.com/mem0ai/mem0
- Mem0 documentation: docs.mem0.ai/open-source/overview
- Mem0 license: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/LICENSE
- Mem0 hardware requirements, Mem0 deploy instructions: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/server/README.md
- Sim GitHub repository: github.com/simstudioai/sim
- Sim documentation: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting
- Sim license: github.com/simstudioai/sim/blob/main/LICENSE
- Sim hardware requirements: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting#requirements
- Sim deploy instructions: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting/docker
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.