Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs PipesHub
Short answer
Onyx (formerly Danswer): AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose Onyx (formerly Danswer) if you want: larger community (33.0k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).
Choose PipesHub if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo), lighter official minimum (8 GB vs 10 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs PipesHub side by side
| Onyx (formerly Danswer) | PipesHub | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. | Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. |
| License | MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Open core | Permissive |
| License conditions | The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 33.0k | 3.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 27, 2026 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Latest release | v5.0.1 | v0.10.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk | 8 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk | 16 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €69.99/mo | from €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Install script (Docker Compose) | Docker Compose (interactive installer) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Not documented |
| Details | Full Onyx (formerly Danswer) guide → | Full PipesHub guide → |
Key differences
- License: Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk). PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
- Est. server cost: Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo. PipesHub: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: Onyx (formerly Danswer): Install script (Docker Compose) · multi-container stack. PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Onyx (formerly Danswer): 33.0k. PipesHub: 3.9k.
- Latest release: Onyx (formerly Danswer): v5.0.1 (Oct 26, 2026). PipesHub: v0.10.0 (Oct 12, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 27, 2026.
Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs PipesHub: FAQ
Onyx (formerly Danswer) or PipesHub: which should a small business choose?
Choose Onyx (formerly Danswer) if you want: larger community (33.0k vs 3.9k GitHub stars). Choose PipesHub if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo), lighter official minimum (8 GB vs 10 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Onyx (formerly Danswer) or PipesHub?
PipesHub: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).
How much hardware do Onyx (formerly Danswer) and PipesHub need?
Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk). PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between Onyx (formerly Danswer) and PipesHub?
Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Onyx (formerly Danswer) or PipesHub more actively maintained?
Onyx (formerly Danswer): Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Onyx (formerly Danswer) or PipesHub?
Onyx (formerly Danswer) installs via Install script (Docker Compose) (multi-container stack); PipesHub via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack). Onyx (formerly Danswer) lists 4 known gotchas and PipesHub lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) self-hosting guide · PipesHub self-hosting guide
- All Onyx (formerly Danswer) alternatives, ranked
- All PipesHub alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AnythingLLM vs PipesHub
- DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs PipesHub
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs PipesHub
- Khoj vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- kotaemon vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- kotaemon vs PipesHub
- MaxKB vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- MaxKB vs PipesHub
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs Open Notebook
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) GitHub repository: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) documentation, Onyx (formerly Danswer) hardware requirements: docs.onyx.app/deployment/getting_started/resourcing
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) license: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx/blob/main/LICENSE
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) deploy instructions: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx#readme
- PipesHub GitHub repository: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai
- PipesHub documentation: docs.pipeshub.com
- PipesHub license: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/LICENSE
- PipesHub hardware requirements: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md#deployment-types-slim-vs-full-vs-eval
- PipesHub deploy instructions: github.com/pipeshub-ai/pipeshub-ai/blob/main/deployment/docker-compose/ADVANCED_DEPLOYMENT.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.