Open Notebook vs WeKnora

Short answer

Open Notebook: Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models. WeKnora: Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose Open Notebook if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Open Notebook vs WeKnora side by side

Open NotebookWeKnora
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isPrivate, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models.Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces.
LicenseMITMIT (with third-party components)
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice.MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars41.0k36.1k
Last commitOct 5, 2026Oct 30, 2026
Latest releasev1.15.0v0.9.0
Minimum hardware4 GB RAMNot published
Recommended hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required. Local models run through Ollama or another model service you configure.
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mofrom €35.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not supported (OIDC not supported · SAML not supported · LDAP not supported)Free (OIDC free)
Audit logNoYes, free
RBACNoYes, free
DetailsFull Open Notebook guide →Full WeKnora guide →

Key differences

  • License: Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive). WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM. WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
  • GPU: Open Notebook: not required or not stated. WeKnora: optional / see notes.
  • Est. server cost: Open Notebook: from €19.99/mo. WeKnora: from €35.99/mo.
  • GitHub stars: Open Notebook: 41.0k. WeKnora: 36.1k.
  • Last commit: Open Notebook: Oct 5, 2026. WeKnora: Oct 30, 2026.
  • Latest release: Open Notebook: v1.15.0 (Oct 4, 2026). WeKnora: v0.9.0 (Oct 29, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Deploy: Docker Compose · multi-container stack; Status: Active.

Open Notebook vs WeKnora: FAQ

Open Notebook or WeKnora: which should a small business choose?

Choose Open Notebook if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

Which is cheaper to self-host, Open Notebook or WeKnora?

Open Notebook: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

How much hardware do Open Notebook and WeKnora need?

Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM. WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).

What is the license difference between Open Notebook and WeKnora?

Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive). MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Open Notebook or WeKnora more actively maintained?

Open Notebook: Active, last commit Oct 5, 2026. WeKnora: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Open Notebook or WeKnora?

Open Notebook installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); WeKnora via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Open Notebook lists 4 known gotchas and WeKnora lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.