Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
Short answer
Bionic: Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. LobeHub (LobeChat): Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Bionic if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Choose LobeHub (LobeChat) if you want: larger community (83.5k vs 2.4k GitHub stars).
Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat) side by side
| Bionic | LobeHub (LobeChat) | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. | Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. | Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 2.4k | 83.5k |
| Last commit | Oct 7, 2026 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.12.28 | v2.2.20 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (evaluation) | Docker Compose (setup script) |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Free (OIDC free) |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Not documented |
| Details | Full Bionic guide → | Full LobeHub (LobeChat) guide → |
Key differences
- License: Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: Bionic: not published. LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
- Est. server cost: Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). LobeHub (LobeChat): from €19.99/mo.
- Deploy: Bionic: Docker Compose (evaluation) · multi-container stack. LobeHub (LobeChat): Docker Compose (setup script) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Bionic: 2.4k. LobeHub (LobeChat): 83.5k.
- Last commit: Bionic: Oct 7, 2026. LobeHub (LobeChat): Oct 27, 2026.
- Latest release: Bionic: v1.12.28 (Oct 1, 2026). LobeHub (LobeChat): v2.2.20 (Oct 18, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat): FAQ
Bionic or LobeHub (LobeChat): which should a small business choose?
Choose Bionic if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose LobeHub (LobeChat) if you want: larger community (83.5k vs 2.4k GitHub stars). Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Bionic or LobeHub (LobeChat)?
Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). LobeHub (LobeChat): from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Bionic and LobeHub (LobeChat) need?
Bionic: not published. LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
What is the license difference between Bionic and LobeHub (LobeChat)?
Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Bionic or LobeHub (LobeChat) more actively maintained?
Bionic: Active, last commit Oct 7, 2026. LobeHub (LobeChat): Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Bionic or LobeHub (LobeChat)?
Bionic installs via Docker Compose (evaluation) (multi-container stack); LobeHub (LobeChat) via Docker Compose (setup script) (multi-container stack). Bionic lists 3 known gotchas and LobeHub (LobeChat) lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- Bionic self-hosting guide · LobeHub (LobeChat) self-hosting guide
- All Bionic alternatives, ranked
- All LobeHub (LobeChat) alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Bionic vs Cherry Studio
- Bionic vs Jan
- Bionic vs LibreChat
- Bionic vs NextChat
- Bionic vs Open WebUI
- Cherry Studio vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Jan vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- LibreChat vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Bionic GitHub repository: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt
- Bionic documentation: bionic-gpt.com/docs/
- Bionic license: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt/blob/main/LICENCE
- Bionic hardware requirements: bionic-gpt.com/docs/private-cloud/installation-prerequisite/
- Bionic deploy instructions: bionic-gpt.com/docs/running-locally/docker-compose/
- LobeHub (LobeChat) GitHub repository: github.com/lobehub/lobehub
- LobeHub (LobeChat) documentation, LobeHub (LobeChat) hardware requirements, LobeHub (LobeChat) deploy instructions: lobehub.com/docs/self-hosting/platform/docker-compose
- LobeHub (LobeChat) license: github.com/lobehub/lobehub/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.