Bionic vs Cherry Studio
Short answer
Bionic: Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. Cherry Studio: Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Bionic if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Network copyleft (AGPL)).
Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app) and larger community (53.0k vs 2.4k GitHub stars).
Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Bionic vs Cherry Studio side by side
| Bionic | Cherry Studio | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. | Desktop AI client for cloud and local models with agents, knowledge bases and MCP tools. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) |
| License type | Permissive | Network copyleft (AGPL) |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. | Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 2.4k | 53.0k |
| Last commit | Oct 7, 2026 | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.12.28 | v2.1.8 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | No server (desktop app) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (evaluation) | Desktop installer |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Not documented |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Bionic guide → | Full Cherry Studio guide → |
Key differences
- License: Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)).
- Est. server cost: Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Cherry Studio: no server (desktop app).
- Deploy: Bionic: Docker Compose (evaluation) · multi-container stack. Cherry Studio: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer.
- GitHub stars: Bionic: 2.4k. Cherry Studio: 53.0k.
- Last commit: Bionic: Oct 7, 2026. Cherry Studio: Oct 27, 2026.
- Latest release: Bionic: v1.12.28 (Oct 1, 2026). Cherry Studio: v2.1.8 (Oct 26, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Bionic vs Cherry Studio: FAQ
Bionic or Cherry Studio: which should a small business choose?
Choose Bionic if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Network copyleft (AGPL)). Choose Cherry Studio if you want: no server to rent (desktop app) and larger community (53.0k vs 2.4k GitHub stars). Bionic publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Bionic or Cherry Studio?
Cherry Studio: no server to rent (desktop app).
How much hardware do Bionic and Cherry Studio need?
Bionic: not published. Cherry Studio: not published.
What is the license difference between Bionic and Cherry Studio?
Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. Cherry Studio: AGPL-3.0 (commercial license available) (Network copyleft (AGPL)). Free for internal and commercial use under AGPL-3.0. If you modify Cherry Studio and distribute it or let users interact with it over a network, you must offer the modified source under AGPL-3.0. A commercial license exempting you from AGPL terms is sold separately. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Bionic or Cherry Studio more actively maintained?
Bionic: Active, last commit Oct 7, 2026. Cherry Studio: Active, last commit Oct 27, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Bionic or Cherry Studio?
Bionic installs via Docker Compose (evaluation) (multi-container stack); Cherry Studio via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer). Bionic lists 3 known gotchas and Cherry Studio lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- Bionic self-hosting guide · Cherry Studio self-hosting guide
- All Bionic alternatives, ranked
- All Cherry Studio alternatives, ranked
- Bionic vs Jan
- Bionic vs LibreChat
- Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Bionic vs NextChat
- Bionic vs Open WebUI
- Cherry Studio vs Jan
- Cherry Studio vs LibreChat
- Cherry Studio vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Cherry Studio vs NextChat
- Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Bionic GitHub repository: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt
- Bionic documentation: bionic-gpt.com/docs/
- Bionic license: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt/blob/main/LICENCE
- Bionic hardware requirements: bionic-gpt.com/docs/private-cloud/installation-prerequisite/
- Bionic deploy instructions: bionic-gpt.com/docs/running-locally/docker-compose/
- Cherry Studio GitHub repository: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio
- Cherry Studio documentation, Cherry Studio hardware requirements, Cherry Studio deploy instructions: cherryai.com/docs/en/cherry-studio/installation/
- Cherry Studio license: github.com/CherryHQ/cherry-studio/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.