Bionic vs NextChat
Short answer
Bionic: Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. NextChat: Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose NextChat if you want: larger community (88.9k vs 2.4k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Bionic and NextChat publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Bionic vs NextChat side by side
| Bionic | NextChat | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. | Lightweight ChatGPT-style web app you can run with one Docker command. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | MIT |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 2.4k | 88.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 7, 2026 | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.12.28 | v2.16.1 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 42 MiB idle, 57 MiB working (our test, v2.16.1, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €6.49/mo (based on our test, not official) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (evaluation) | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Not documented |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Not documented |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Not documented |
| Details | Full Bionic guide → | Full NextChat guide → |
Key differences
- License: Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). NextChat: MIT (Permissive).
- Deploy: Bionic: Docker Compose (evaluation) · multi-container stack. NextChat: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Bionic: 2.4k. NextChat: 88.9k.
- Last commit: Bionic: Oct 7, 2026. NextChat: Oct 20, 2026.
- Latest release: Bionic: v1.12.28 (Oct 1, 2026). NextChat: v2.16.1 (Jul 29, 2025).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: not estimated (no official RAM figure); Status: Active.
Bionic vs NextChat: FAQ
Bionic or NextChat: which should a small business choose?
Choose NextChat if you want: larger community (88.9k vs 2.4k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Bionic and NextChat publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Bionic or NextChat?
Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). NextChat: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Bionic and NextChat need?
Bionic: not published. NextChat: not published.
What is the license difference between Bionic and NextChat?
Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. NextChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. Branding, admin panel and permissions are sold separately as an Enterprise Edition. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Bionic or NextChat more actively maintained?
Bionic: Active, last commit Oct 7, 2026. NextChat: Active, last commit Oct 20, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Bionic or NextChat?
Bionic installs via Docker Compose (evaluation) (multi-container stack); NextChat via Docker (single container). Bionic lists 3 known gotchas and NextChat lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- Bionic self-hosting guide · NextChat self-hosting guide
- All Bionic alternatives, ranked
- All NextChat alternatives, ranked
- Bionic vs Cherry Studio
- Bionic vs Jan
- Bionic vs LibreChat
- Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Bionic vs Open WebUI
- Cherry Studio vs NextChat
- Jan vs NextChat
- LibreChat vs NextChat
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs NextChat
- NextChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Bionic GitHub repository: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt
- Bionic documentation: bionic-gpt.com/docs/
- Bionic license: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt/blob/main/LICENCE
- Bionic hardware requirements: bionic-gpt.com/docs/private-cloud/installation-prerequisite/
- Bionic deploy instructions: bionic-gpt.com/docs/running-locally/docker-compose/
- NextChat GitHub repository: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat
- NextChat documentation: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#deployment
- NextChat license: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat/blob/main/LICENSE
- NextChat hardware requirements: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#requirements
- NextChat deploy instructions: github.com/ChatGPTNextWeb/NextChat#docker-recommended
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.