Bionic vs Open WebUI
Short answer
Bionic: Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. Open WebUI: Feature-rich self-hosted chat UI for Ollama and OpenAI-compatible APIs. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.
Choose Bionic if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).
Choose Open WebUI if you want: larger community (157k vs 2.4k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Bionic and Open WebUI publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Bionic vs Open WebUI side by side
| Bionic | Open WebUI | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Private ChatGPT-style chat | Private ChatGPT-style chat |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI workspace with agents, RAG, teams, SSO and audit trails, built in Rust. | Feature-rich self-hosted chat UI for Ollama and OpenAI-compatible APIs. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Open WebUI License (BSD-3-Clause style with branding clause) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. | BSD-style terms plus a branding condition. You may not alter or remove the "Open WebUI" branding unless your deployment has no more than 50 end users in any rolling 30 days, you have written permission, or you hold an enterprise license. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 2.4k | 157k |
| Last commit | Oct 7, 2026 | Oct 25, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.12.28 | v0.12.4 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | 896 MiB idle, 909 MiB working (our test, v0.12.3, Oct 22, 2026) |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €11.99/mo (based on our test, not official) |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (evaluation) | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Off by default (opt-in) |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Yes, by default |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Free (OIDC free) | Free (OIDC free · LDAP free) |
| Audit log | Yes, free | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Yes, free | Yes, free |
| Details | Full Bionic guide → | Full Open WebUI guide → |
Key differences
- License: Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Open WebUI: Open WebUI License (BSD-3-Clause style with branding clause) (Custom / conditional).
- Deploy: Bionic: Docker Compose (evaluation) · multi-container stack. Open WebUI: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Bionic: 2.4k. Open WebUI: 157k.
- Last commit: Bionic: Oct 7, 2026. Open WebUI: Oct 25, 2026.
- Latest release: Bionic: v1.12.28 (Oct 1, 2026). Open WebUI: v0.12.4 (Oct 25, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Official hardware: not published; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: not estimated (no official RAM figure); Status: Active.
Bionic vs Open WebUI: FAQ
Bionic or Open WebUI: which should a small business choose?
Choose Bionic if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose Open WebUI if you want: larger community (157k vs 2.4k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Bionic and Open WebUI publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Bionic or Open WebUI?
Bionic: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Open WebUI: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Bionic and Open WebUI need?
Bionic: not published. Open WebUI: not published.
What is the license difference between Bionic and Open WebUI?
Bionic: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. Paid enterprise support is optional. Open WebUI: Open WebUI License (BSD-3-Clause style with branding clause) (Custom / conditional). BSD-style terms plus a branding condition. You may not alter or remove the "Open WebUI" branding unless your deployment has no more than 50 end users in any rolling 30 days, you have written permission, or you hold an enterprise license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Bionic or Open WebUI more actively maintained?
Bionic: Active, last commit Oct 7, 2026. Open WebUI: Active, last commit Oct 25, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 27, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Bionic or Open WebUI?
Bionic installs via Docker Compose (evaluation) (multi-container stack); Open WebUI via Docker (single container). Bionic lists 3 known gotchas and Open WebUI lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Bionic self-hosting guide · Open WebUI self-hosting guide
- All Bionic alternatives, ranked
- All Open WebUI alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs Open WebUI
- Bionic vs Cherry Studio
- Bionic vs Jan
- Bionic vs LibreChat
- Bionic vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- Bionic vs NextChat
- Cherry Studio vs Open WebUI
- Jan vs Open WebUI
- LibreChat vs Open WebUI
- LobeHub (LobeChat) vs Open WebUI
- NextChat vs Open WebUI
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Bionic GitHub repository: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt
- Bionic documentation: bionic-gpt.com/docs/
- Bionic license: github.com/bionic-gpt/bionic-gpt/blob/main/LICENCE
- Bionic hardware requirements: bionic-gpt.com/docs/private-cloud/installation-prerequisite/
- Bionic deploy instructions: bionic-gpt.com/docs/running-locally/docker-compose/
- Open WebUI GitHub repository: github.com/open-webui/open-webui
- Open WebUI documentation, Open WebUI hardware requirements: docs.openwebui.com/getting-started/quick-start/
- Open WebUI license: github.com/open-webui/open-webui/blob/main/LICENSE
- Open WebUI deploy instructions: github.com/open-webui/open-webui#installation-with-default-configuration
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.