CowAgent vs Mem0
Short answer
CowAgent: Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. Mem0: Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Our data does not separate them on cost, hardware, license, activity or deploy method (or one of them does not publish the figure). Decide on features: read the descriptions on each app page and try both.
CowAgent and Mem0 publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
CowAgent vs Mem0 side by side
| CowAgent | Mem0 | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. | Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. |
| License | MIT | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. | Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 47.7k | 68.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Latest release | 2.2.2 | ts-v3.3.1 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (official compose file) | Docker Compose (build from source) |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Not documented |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Not documented | Not documented |
| Details | Full CowAgent guide → | Full Mem0 guide → |
Key differences
- License: CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- GPU: CowAgent: optional / see notes. Mem0: not required or not stated.
- Deploy: CowAgent: Docker Compose (official compose file) · multi-container stack. Mem0: Docker Compose (build from source) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: CowAgent: 47.7k. Mem0: 68.1k.
- Last commit: CowAgent: Oct 30, 2026. Mem0: Oct 26, 2026.
- Latest release: CowAgent: 2.2.2 (Oct 30, 2026). Mem0: ts-v3.3.1 (Sep 25, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Official hardware: not published; Est. server cost: not estimated (no official RAM figure); Status: Active.
The two projects share too few published figures for a data-based recommendation. We do not fill gaps with guesses.
CowAgent vs Mem0: FAQ
CowAgent or Mem0: which should a small business choose?
Our data does not separate them on cost, hardware, license, activity or deploy method (or one of them does not publish the figure). Decide on features: read the descriptions on each app page and try both. CowAgent and Mem0 publish no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, CowAgent or Mem0?
CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do CowAgent and Mem0 need?
CowAgent: not published. Mem0: not published.
What is the license difference between CowAgent and Mem0?
CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is CowAgent or Mem0 more actively maintained?
CowAgent: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. Mem0: Active, last commit Oct 26, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 30, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, CowAgent or Mem0?
CowAgent installs via Docker Compose (official compose file) (multi-container stack); Mem0 via Docker Compose (build from source) (multi-container stack). CowAgent lists 3 known gotchas and Mem0 lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- CowAgent self-hosting guide · Mem0 self-hosting guide
- All CowAgent alternatives, ranked
- All Mem0 alternatives, ranked
- AstrBot vs CowAgent
- AstrBot vs Mem0
- AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Mem0
- CowAgent vs Coze Studio
- CowAgent vs Dify
- CowAgent vs Flowise
- CowAgent vs Langflow
- CowAgent vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs Mem0
- Dify vs Mem0
- Flowise vs Mem0
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- CowAgent GitHub repository: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent
- CowAgent documentation, CowAgent hardware requirements: docs.cowagent.ai/guide/quick-start
- CowAgent license: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent/blob/master/LICENSE
- CowAgent deploy instructions: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent#readme
- Mem0 GitHub repository: github.com/mem0ai/mem0
- Mem0 documentation: docs.mem0.ai/open-source/overview
- Mem0 license: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/LICENSE
- Mem0 hardware requirements, Mem0 deploy instructions: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/server/README.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.