CowAgent vs Sim
Short answer
CowAgent: Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose CowAgent if you want: larger community (47.7k vs 29.9k GitHub stars).
CowAgent publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
CowAgent vs Sim side by side
| CowAgent | Sim | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Self-hosted AI agent (formerly chatgpt-on-wechat) that answers in WeChat, WeCom, Feishu, DingTalk, Slack and a web console. | Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. |
| License | MIT | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 47.7k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 30, 2026 | Oct 29, 2026 |
| Latest release | 2.2.2 | v0.9.36 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | No. It calls the model providers you configure. | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | Not estimated | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (official compose file) | Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) |
| Known gotchas | 3 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free · SAML free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Not documented | Yes, free |
| Details | Full CowAgent guide → | Full Sim guide → |
Key differences
- License: CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: CowAgent: not published. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
- GPU: CowAgent: optional / see notes. Sim: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Sim: from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: CowAgent: Docker Compose (official compose file) · multi-container stack. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: CowAgent: 47.7k. Sim: 29.9k.
- Last commit: CowAgent: Oct 30, 2026. Sim: Oct 29, 2026.
- Latest release: CowAgent: 2.2.2 (Oct 30, 2026). Sim: v0.9.36 (Oct 28, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active.
CowAgent vs Sim: FAQ
CowAgent or Sim: which should a small business choose?
Choose CowAgent if you want: larger community (47.7k vs 29.9k GitHub stars). CowAgent publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, CowAgent or Sim?
CowAgent: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Sim: from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do CowAgent and Sim need?
CowAgent: not published. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
What is the license difference between CowAgent and Sim?
CowAgent: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is CowAgent or Sim more actively maintained?
CowAgent: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 29, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 30, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, CowAgent or Sim?
CowAgent installs via Docker Compose (official compose file) (multi-container stack); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). CowAgent lists 3 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- CowAgent self-hosting guide · Sim self-hosting guide
- All CowAgent alternatives, ranked
- All Sim alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Sim
- AstrBot vs CowAgent
- AstrBot vs Sim
- AutoGPT Platform vs CowAgent
- AutoGPT Platform vs Sim
- CowAgent vs Coze Studio
- CowAgent vs Dify
- CowAgent vs Flowise
- CowAgent vs Langflow
- CowAgent vs Mem0
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- Dify vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- CowAgent GitHub repository: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent
- CowAgent documentation, CowAgent hardware requirements: docs.cowagent.ai/guide/quick-start
- CowAgent license: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent/blob/master/LICENSE
- CowAgent deploy instructions: github.com/zhayujie/CowAgent#readme
- Sim GitHub repository: github.com/simstudioai/sim
- Sim documentation: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting
- Sim license: github.com/simstudioai/sim/blob/main/LICENSE
- Sim hardware requirements: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting#requirements
- Sim deploy instructions: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting/docker
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.