DB-GPT vs Mem0

Short answer

DB-GPT: AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. Mem0: Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Choose Mem0 if you want: larger community (68.3k vs 20.2k GitHub stars).

Mem0 publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

DB-GPT vs Mem0 side by side

DB-GPTMem0
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isAI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports.Long-term memory layer for AI assistants and agents, with a self-hosted REST server and dashboard.
LicenseMITApache-2.0
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice.Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars20.2k68.3k
Last commitNov 2, 2026Oct 30, 2026
Latest releasev0.8.2ts-v3.3.1
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB diskNot published
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUOptional. API proxy models (OpenAI, DeepSeek, Qwen, SiliconFlow) need no GPU and run on a CPU-only machine; local inference with vLLM or Hugging Face needs an NVIDIA GPU (8 GB+ VRAM for 7B models, 24 GB+ for 13B+).Not required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/moNot estimated
Deploy methodDocker Compose (web server + MySQL)Docker Compose (build from source)
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedNot documented
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull DB-GPT guide →Full Mem0 guide →

Key differences

  • License: DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Mem0: not published.
  • GPU: DB-GPT: optional / see notes. Mem0: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo. Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
  • Deploy: DB-GPT: Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) · multi-container stack. Mem0: Docker Compose (build from source) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: DB-GPT: 20.2k. Mem0: 68.3k.
  • Last commit: DB-GPT: Nov 2, 2026. Mem0: Oct 30, 2026.
  • Latest release: DB-GPT: v0.8.2 (Aug 26, 2026). Mem0: ts-v3.3.1 (Sep 25, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active.

DB-GPT vs Mem0: FAQ

DB-GPT or Mem0: which should a small business choose?

Choose Mem0 if you want: larger community (68.3k vs 20.2k GitHub stars). Mem0 publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, DB-GPT or Mem0?

DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo. Mem0: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do DB-GPT and Mem0 need?

DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Mem0: not published.

What is the license difference between DB-GPT and Mem0?

DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. Mem0: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Free for internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution. Keep the license and NOTICE text and state significant changes when you redistribute. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is DB-GPT or Mem0 more actively maintained?

DB-GPT: Active, last commit Nov 2, 2026. Mem0: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, DB-GPT or Mem0?

DB-GPT installs via Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) (multi-container stack); Mem0 via Docker Compose (build from source) (multi-container stack). DB-GPT lists 4 known gotchas and Mem0 lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.