DB-GPT vs Sim
Short answer
DB-GPT: AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose DB-GPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
DB-GPT vs Sim side by side
| DB-GPT | Sim | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | AI data assistant that connects to your databases, writes SQL and code, and turns analysis into reports. | Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. |
| License | MIT | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 20.2k | 30.0k |
| Last commit | Nov 2, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.8.2 | v0.9.41 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk | 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Optional. API proxy models (OpenAI, DeepSeek, Qwen, SiliconFlow) need no GPU and run on a CPU-only machine; local inference with vLLM or Hugging Face needs an NVIDIA GPU (8 GB+ VRAM for 7B models, 24 GB+ for 13B+). | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) | Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free · SAML free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Not documented | Yes, free |
| Details | Full DB-GPT guide → | Full Sim guide → |
Key differences
- License: DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
- GPU: DB-GPT: optional / see notes. Sim: not required or not stated.
- Est. server cost: DB-GPT: from €19.99/mo. Sim: from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: DB-GPT: Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) · multi-container stack. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: DB-GPT: 20.2k. Sim: 30.0k.
- Last commit: DB-GPT: Nov 2, 2026. Sim: Nov 3, 2026.
- Latest release: DB-GPT: v0.8.2 (Aug 26, 2026). Sim: v0.9.41 (Nov 3, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; Status: Active.
DB-GPT vs Sim: FAQ
DB-GPT or Sim: which should a small business choose?
Choose DB-GPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM).
Which is cheaper to self-host, DB-GPT or Sim?
DB-GPT: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).
How much hardware do DB-GPT and Sim need?
DB-GPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 10 GB disk. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
What is the license difference between DB-GPT and Sim?
DB-GPT: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use, modification and redistribution allowed; keep the copyright and license notice. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is DB-GPT or Sim more actively maintained?
DB-GPT: Active, last commit Nov 2, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Nov 3, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Nov 3, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, DB-GPT or Sim?
DB-GPT installs via Docker Compose (web server + MySQL) (multi-container stack); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). DB-GPT lists 4 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- DB-GPT self-hosting guide · Sim self-hosting guide
- All DB-GPT alternatives, ranked
- All Sim alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Sim
- Agent Zero vs DB-GPT
- Agent Zero vs Sim
- AstrBot vs DB-GPT
- AstrBot vs Sim
- AutoGPT Platform vs DB-GPT
- AutoGPT Platform vs Sim
- CowAgent vs DB-GPT
- CowAgent vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs DB-GPT
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- DB-GPT vs Dify
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- DB-GPT GitHub repository: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT
- DB-GPT documentation, DB-GPT deploy instructions: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/docs/docs/getting-started/deploy/docker-compose.md
- DB-GPT license: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- DB-GPT hardware requirements: github.com/eosphoros-ai/DB-GPT/blob/main/docs/docs/getting-started/prerequisites.md
- Sim GitHub repository: github.com/simstudioai/sim
- Sim documentation: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting
- Sim license: github.com/simstudioai/sim/blob/main/LICENSE
- Sim hardware requirements: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting#requirements
- Sim deploy instructions: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting/docker
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-11-01): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.