LightRAG vs PipesHub

Short answer

LightRAG: Graph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API. PipesHub: Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose LightRAG if you want: larger community (40.4k vs 3.9k GitHub stars).

LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

LightRAG vs PipesHub side by side

LightRAGPipesHub
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isGraph-based RAG server that builds a knowledge graph from your documents, with a web UI and REST API.Self-hosted workplace search and AI answers across 50+ connected apps, filtered by each user's permissions.
LicenseMITApache-2.0
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars40.4k3.9k
Last commitOct 14, 2026Oct 31, 2026
Latest releasev1.5.7v1.0.0
Minimum hardwareNot published8 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot published16 GB RAM
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNo. It calls the model providers you configure.Not required / not stated
Est. server costNot estimatedfrom €35.99/mo (recommended spec: €69.99/mo)
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose (interactive installer)
Known gotchas4 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedOn by default
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedFree
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull LightRAG guide →Full PipesHub guide →

Key differences

  • License: LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: LightRAG: not published. PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).
  • GPU: LightRAG: optional / see notes. PipesHub: not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). PipesHub: from €35.99/mo.
  • Deploy: LightRAG: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. PipesHub: Docker Compose (interactive installer) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: LightRAG: 40.4k. PipesHub: 3.9k.
  • Last commit: LightRAG: Oct 14, 2026. PipesHub: Oct 31, 2026.
  • Latest release: LightRAG: v1.5.7 (Sep 2, 2026). PipesHub: v1.0.0 (Oct 27, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.

LightRAG vs PipesHub: FAQ

LightRAG or PipesHub: which should a small business choose?

Choose LightRAG if you want: larger community (40.4k vs 3.9k GitHub stars). LightRAG publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.

Which is cheaper to self-host, LightRAG or PipesHub?

LightRAG: not estimated (no official RAM figure). PipesHub: from €35.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do LightRAG and PipesHub need?

LightRAG: not published. PipesHub: minimum 8 GB RAM (recommended 16 GB RAM).

What is the license difference between LightRAG and PipesHub?

LightRAG: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed. Models keep their own licenses. PipesHub: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license and notices. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is LightRAG or PipesHub more actively maintained?

LightRAG: Active, last commit Oct 14, 2026. PipesHub: Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, LightRAG or PipesHub?

LightRAG installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); PipesHub via Docker Compose (interactive installer) (multi-container stack). LightRAG lists 4 known gotchas and PipesHub lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.