Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs WeKnora
Short answer
Onyx (formerly Danswer): AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. WeKnora: Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose WeKnora if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs WeKnora side by side
| Onyx (formerly Danswer) | WeKnora | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | AI chat and enterprise search connected to 50+ workplace apps. | Tencent's open-source knowledge-base and agent platform with document parsing, RAG and team workspaces. |
| License | MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) | MIT (with third-party components) |
| License type | Open core | Permissive |
| License conditions | The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. | MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 33.1k | 36.1k |
| Last commit | Oct 31, 2026 | Oct 30, 2026 |
| Latest release | v5.0.3 | v0.9.0 |
| Minimum hardware | 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required. Local models run through Ollama or another model service you configure. |
| Est. server cost | from €69.99/mo | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Install script (Docker Compose) | Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 4 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Yes, free |
| Details | Full Onyx (formerly Danswer) guide → | Full WeKnora guide → |
Key differences
- License: Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive).
- Official hardware: Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
- GPU: Onyx (formerly Danswer): not required or not stated. WeKnora: optional / see notes.
- Est. server cost: Onyx (formerly Danswer): from €69.99/mo. WeKnora: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: Onyx (formerly Danswer): Install script (Docker Compose) · multi-container stack. WeKnora: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Onyx (formerly Danswer): 33.1k. WeKnora: 36.1k.
- Last commit: Onyx (formerly Danswer): Oct 31, 2026. WeKnora: Oct 30, 2026.
- Latest release: Onyx (formerly Danswer): v5.0.3 (Oct 30, 2026). WeKnora: v0.9.0 (Oct 29, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; Status: Active.
Onyx (formerly Danswer) vs WeKnora: FAQ
Onyx (formerly Danswer) or WeKnora: which should a small business choose?
Choose WeKnora if you want: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Onyx (formerly Danswer) or WeKnora?
WeKnora: cheaper to host (from €35.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).
How much hardware do Onyx (formerly Danswer) and WeKnora need?
Onyx (formerly Danswer): minimum 4 vCPU · 10 GB RAM · 32 GB disk (recommended 8 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 500 GB disk). WeKnora: recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM (no separate minimum published).
What is the license difference between Onyx (formerly Danswer) and WeKnora?
Onyx (formerly Danswer): MIT (Community Edition) + Onyx Enterprise License (ee directories) (Open core). The Community Edition is MIT. Code in "ee" directories is under the Onyx Enterprise License. WeKnora: MIT (with third-party components) (Permissive). MIT for WeKnora itself; bundled third-party components keep their own licenses, listed in the LICENSE file. Internal and commercial use allowed. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Onyx (formerly Danswer) or WeKnora more actively maintained?
Onyx (formerly Danswer): Active, last commit Oct 31, 2026. WeKnora: Active, last commit Oct 30, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 31, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Onyx (formerly Danswer) or WeKnora?
Onyx (formerly Danswer) installs via Install script (Docker Compose) (multi-container stack); WeKnora via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Onyx (formerly Danswer) lists 4 known gotchas and WeKnora lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) self-hosting guide · WeKnora self-hosting guide
- All Onyx (formerly Danswer) alternatives, ranked
- All WeKnora alternatives, ranked
- AFFiNE vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AFFiNE vs WeKnora
- AnythingLLM vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AnythingLLM vs WeKnora
- DocsGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- DocsGPT vs WeKnora
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs WeKnora
- Khoj vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- kotaemon vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- kotaemon vs WeKnora
- Langchain-Chatchat vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) GitHub repository: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) documentation, Onyx (formerly Danswer) hardware requirements: docs.onyx.app/deployment/getting_started/resourcing
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) license: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx/blob/main/LICENSE
- Onyx (formerly Danswer) deploy instructions: github.com/onyx-dot-app/onyx#readme
- WeKnora GitHub repository: github.com/Tencent/WeKnora
- WeKnora documentation, WeKnora hardware requirements, WeKnora deploy instructions: weknora.weixin.qq.com/docs/01-getting-started/02-installation
- WeKnora license: github.com/Tencent/WeKnora/blob/main/LICENSE
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-25): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.